OUR HISTORY

Come with us on a small journey through time

1920

Tower clock company foundation

Georg Rauscher I, born 1886 in Regensburg, started his apprenticeship as a forest ranger. After his master's unexpected death he was forced to look for a new apprenticeship, which he found in the Tower Clock Company of Eduard Strobl, founded in 1900. After several years in Regensburg and Berlin and after the end of World War I in 1920 Georg Rauscher finished his master in precision mechanics and founded the Georg Rauscher Tower Clock Manufactory in “Stadt am Hof”, a city quarter right on the other side of the Danube, facing the dome.

1/1

Georg Rauscher I, founder

Georg Rauscher II

20S TO 60S 

Era of mechanical tower clocks and master clocks 

Finally Georg Rauscher was able to realize his own ideas and designed clocks ranging from 30 kg to 700 kg own weight. The production of such monumental machines took up to two months and more, the mounting at its final destination, the church tower, more than a week. Georg Rauscher was a compulsive problem-solver, fanatically devoted to clocks. His inventions include his first electromechanical clocks, which he built in 1926, thereby creating a sensation. Georg Rauscher achieved his greatest success in 1950 by installing two electromechanical tower clock mechanisms in two towers of the Theatinerkirche in Munich. They included altogether six clock faces and pairs of hands. Nowadays, 65 years later, his last tower clock is still in service. His son, Georg Rauscher II. was born on May 31st 1911 and soon walked in the footsteps of this father. 1938 he successfully passed the exams to become a precision mechanic and proved his skillfulness and passion in his fathers company, which he finally took over after his father passed away in 1950. After struggling to find space for an expansion of the production facilities he was able to find new premises on the former outskirts of Regensburg, in today’s Wuerzburger Street. This is also where in the 1950’s he perfected his art of tower clock making and was successfully able to drive the evolution from mechanical works to motor-driven tower clocks and master clocks.

1978

Radio Synchronized Tower Clocks from Regensburg

The old mechanical tower clock movement of the Theatinerkirche now is controlled by a master clock synchronised by radio waves via the official time-signal transmitter of the Federal Institute of Physics and Meteorology in Brunswick. In 1978, the founder’s grand son, Georg Rauscher III, finally accomplished the leap into present-day state-of-the-art tower clock construction with a radio synchronised clock on quartz basis which was set in operation in Regensburg's city hall. Meanwhile, this constant development has reached its peak in the fourth generation of microprocessor controlled DIGITIMER central control clock.

Checking of the newly developed radio clocks by Georg Rauscher III in 1982

1938 bis 1981

Firm's archive

Apart from company focussed historical documents dating back to the 1920’s, the archive of the Rauscher Tower Clock Company comprises a collection of press articles. In former times the construction and assembly of a new tower clock was an important event for a church community and was hence covered and meticulously documented in local newspapers. The following press articles are therefore only a small collection of former news coverage.

CONTACT US!

Unsere Geschichte

Begeben Sie sich mit uns auf eine kleine Zeitreise

1920

Gründung der Turmuhrenfabrik

Georg Rauscher wurde am 20. August 1886 in Regensburg geboren und begann 1899 eine Lehre als Förster. Als sein Lehrmeister unerwartet verstarb, musste er sich nach einer neuen Lehrstelle umschauen. Zufällig gründete Eduard Strobl 1900 eine Turmuhrenfabrik, bei der Georg Rauscher sein Handwerk erlernte. Nach einigen Gesellenjahren in Regensburg und Berlin, machte er nach den Wirren des ersten Weltkrieges 1920 seinen Meister in Feinmechanik und gründete im selben Jahr in Stadt am Hof (zu der Zeit gehörte Stadt am Hof noch nicht zu Regensburg) die Georg Rauscher Turmuhrenfabrik.

1/1

Firmengründer Georg Rauscher I

Georg Rauscher II

20er - 60er

Jahre

Zeit der mechanischen Turmuhren und Hauptuhren

Somit konnte Georg Rauscher endlich seine Ideen verwirklichen und entwarf Uhren von 30kg bis zu 700kg Eigengewicht. Die Fertigung solcher Ungetüme nahm durchaus bis zu 2 Monate und mehr in Anspruch, der Einbau dauerte im Schnitt 1 Woche. In Sachen Uhren war Georg Rauscher ein ausdauernder Tüftler. Unter anderem erfand er 1926 seine erste elektromechanische Turmuhr, die damals eine Sensation war. Seinen größten Erfolg brachte Georg Rauscher 1950 zum Abschluß: Die zwei elektromechanischen Turmuhrwerke für die beiden Türme der Münchner Theatinerkirche mit insgesamt sechs Zifferblättern und Zeigerpaaren. Auch 70 Jahre später steht seine letzte Turmuhr immer noch im Dienste der Zeit. Sein Sohn, Georg Rauscher wurde am 31. Mai 1911 geboren und trat in die Fußstapfen seines Vaters. 1938 absolvierte er die Meisterprüfung im Feinmechanikerhandwerk. Er bewies sein Können und seine Freude an Turmuhren im väterlichen Betrieb, den er 1950 nach dem Tod seines Vaters übernahm. Nach langjährigen Bemühungen um eine größere Produktionsstätte konnte er 1952 ein Grundstück am damaligen Stadtrand, in der heutigen Würzburger Straße erwerben. Dort führte er in den 1950er Jahren die mechanischen Turmuhrwerke zur höchsten Vollendung und vollzog den Wandel von den rein mechanischen Werken zu motorgetriebenen Turmuhren und Hauptuhren.

1978

Funkuhren aus Regensburg

Das alte Turmuhrwerk in der Theatinerkirche wird inzwischen von einer Funkuhr gesteuert - funksynchron über den amtlichen Zeitzeichensender der Physikalisch Technischen Bundesanstalt in Braunschweig. Auch bei der Nutzung des Funksignals (DCF77) waren wir Vorreiter: dem Enkel des Gründers gelang 1978 mit einer funksynchronisierten Quarz-Hauptuhr, die im Rathaus von Regensburg in Betrieb gesetzt wurde, der Sprung ins Zeitalter modernsten Turmuhrenbaus. Regensburg war damit die erste Stadt Deutschlands, welche über eine öffentliche funkgesteuerte Uhrenanlage verfügte. Inzwischen bauen wir unsere mikroprozessor gesteuerte Hauptuhr DigiTimer in der vierten Produktionsgeneration.

Georg Rauscher III bei der Erstentwicklung

von elektronischen Funkhauptuhren

1938 bis 1981

Einblick in das Firmenarchiv

Das Archiv der Turmuhrenfabrik Rauscher umfasst neben firmeninternen Aufzeichnungen zurück bis 1920 auch eine umfangreiche Sammlung ehemaliger Presseberichte. Oftmals wurde jede neue bzw. renovierte Turmuhren- und Glockenanlage von Städten und Dörfern in den örtlichen Zeitungen ausführlich dokumentiert. Nachfolgend aufgeführte Artikel stellen insofern nur eine sehr begrenzte Auswahl früherer Berichterstattungen dar.

AGB

 

Georg Rauscher

Turmuhrenfabrik GmbH

Regensburg -Germany

info@rauscher-time.com

SCHREIBEN SIE UNS!